Nalu

One of my goals this year is to learn new techniques.

Part of the problem is that, even though I’ve only been knitting for about eight years, I’ve already tried a lot of techniques! I can do colorwork, cables, buttonholes, all sorts of increases and decreases, lace, and socks. I’ve got most of the basics covered.

What this means, of course, is that I’ve only got scary stuff left. Seaming. Steeking. Cabling without a needle. All of which kind of involve an inherent trust in your knitting and in your own ability.

Early this month, I tackled what I think to be the easiest (or, least stressful at least) “advanced” technique.

img_2232

I learned to cable without a cable needle! These mitts are covered with wee two-stitch cables that were perfect practice.

The detail in these was surprisingly hard to capture. I might try to take new photos once it’s warmer outside (by which I mean just above freezing, of course).

img_2233

I used the oldest yarn I had to make these! Waaaay back when I first started knitting, I bought a couple of skeins of Mirasol Hacho, two to make mitts for me and my girlfriend, and two to make mitts for my mom. My mom’s mitts only took one skein, so this yarn has just been hanging out for forever. I bought this skein in October 2009, which considering I learned to knit in Spring 2009 is basically forever.

About blogonepurltwo

A 26-year-old lady trying to figure out how to be an adult.
This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

