A Little Something New

So, I may have reinvested in a new hobby.

I may have gone down a click-spiral on reddit and ended up on the cross-stitching subreddit. I then may have looked at several pattern websites (including Etsy) and I may have proceeded on down to the craft store and spent some money.

IMG_1522

In the last week, I have been working on these three projects. To be fair, the Winnie the Pooh one is a kit I bought years ago. I don’t know exactly when, but I know that I had it when I was living at my mom’s house because I was concerned about the needle popping through the plastic bag during my first ever move. (Spoiler: it didn’t.) I moved out of my mom’s house . . . five years ago, now? I’d guess I’ve had it closer to seven years, because I think this is the kit I bought when Amanda and Virginia taught me how to put on makeup and then took me to the cross-stitch store in ‘Tonka. Like you do. The fabric is dirty and wrinkled and some of the early stitches are really uneven and kind of sad looking.

IMG_1524

But, in general, I’m happy with it. No idea what I’ll do with it once it’s done. Maybe I’ll save it until one of my friends (or me, I guess) have a kid and it’s a normal nursery-type gift.

My first ever completed project, though, is this wee little Nightmare Before Christmas picture of Jack and Sally.

IMG_1525

This is my first attempt at backstitching, and I think I did a pretty good job!

IMG_1526

I’m also working on one that we’ll put up in our house in a couple of months:

IMG_1527

(Woah that’s a little out of focus. You get the idea.)

It’s gonna be one of them “subversive cross stitch” projects and I am so excited for it you guys.

I decided to finish up a couple of smaller projects before moving on to anything major . . . and I do have some major project plans. You’ll just have to wait and see!

About blogonepurltwo

A 26-year-old lady trying to figure out how to be an adult.
This entry was posted in Christmas Crafting, cross-stitch and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

