Sometimes you just have to frog

So I’ve been working on this project for like three years, right? And it was beautiful. And at first I loved it.

But then time passed, and I learned more about yarn and how different yarn behaves and I slowly came to realize that I was knitting a big circular shawl out of cotton yarn. And that, while it was so soft and lovely, it was going to pill and it was going to sag.

So I put off working on it for a while. And then I tried to force myself to work on it. And it was so beautiful.

image

But I knew that I would be unhappy with it and I would resent it when it pulled and sagged and I would never wear it.

So I frogged it.

image

And I don’t regret it.

I will make this pattern some day. It’s beautiful and it’s fun and oh my gosh it’s a freaking star chart. But I’ll make it in a different yarn. And I will be happy with it then.

About blogonepurltwo

A 26-year-old lady trying to figure out how to be an adult.
This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sometimes you just have to frog

  1. JulieM says:

    awww . . you’re a smart knitter. The best knitters frog many times in their lives . .

  2. tjchew says:

    Hahaha! Great title you got there

Leave a Reply

